Mid Ulster District Council

Straddling two counties and stretching from Swatragh in the north to Fivemiletown in the south, the Mid Ulster District covers an area of 1714 km² with a population of more than 140,000, living in a mix of urban and rural communities.

40 Councillors are elected in 7 District Electoral Areas (DEA): Dungannon, Carntogher, Clogher Valley, Cookstown, Magherafelt, Moyola and Torrent.

The Council took responsibility for the services of 3 former Councils – Cookstown District Council, Dungannon and South Tyrone Borough Council and Magherafelt District Council – as well as a range of new services, on 1 April 2015.