Department for Infrastructure

The Department for Infrastructure (DfI) is one of nine Northern Ireland Departments. The main responsibilities of the Department are:

  • regional strategic planning and development policy
  • transport strategy and sustainable transport policy
  • public transport policy and performance
  • road safety and vehicle regulation policy, including strategies to reduce the number of people killed or seriously injured on our roads
  • driver and operator licensing and driver and vehicle testing
  • provision and maintenance of all public roads
  • certain policy and support work for air and sea ports
  • river and sea defence maintenance and the construction of flood alleviation schemes
  • provision of flood maps and risk information
  • policy on water and sewerage services and management of the Department’s shareholder interest in Northern Ireland Water